top of page

Alaska is calling...

DSCF6866.JPG.jpg
IMG_2567.jpeg

Our 
Story

Hello,

We are Summers, Sean, and Cecily Williams. Sean and I are both NOLS instructors with a combined 25+ years in the field. We recently moved our family and both of our businesses from Vermont to Palmer, Alaska. Sean works in real estate and I am a birth boula starting my studies in Midwifery. Cecily is currently unemployed.  She was born in July of 2020. Her main activities are playing, walking endlessly around the house, giggling, squealing, making messes, nursing, learning other languages by watching Muzzy, learning sign language, and playing outside when the weather is not too cold.

We are looking for someone to spend time with Cecily part-time to full-time. Most care would be in our home or on activities in the surrounding area. Ideal workdays are Tuesday through Saturday and hours between 8 am and 6 pm, a minimum of 20 hrs a week.

We are looking for someone who would be willing to live in our home in exchange for child care, we currently have a 2-story, 4 bedroom home nestled in the woods overlooking a lake just minutes from downtown Palmer. We are building a house in the village which might be done sometime in 2022.

Perks:

  • Close to Hatcher Pass for Nordic and backcountry riding/skiing and hiking opportunities

  • It's Alaska!

  • Sea Kayaks are available in the summer-time, 2 sleek fiberglass expedition boats

  • Very flexible schedule to accommodate for a second job or personal activities

  • If you would like to eat meals with us this can be arranged by adding yourself to our cooking rotation and grocery shops. Yes, we actually do have a cooking rotation :-)

  • Sauna!

Benefits:

  • Furnished housing with utilities (wifi, electricity, heat) included ($800+ value based on the local market)

  • $350 per month for regularly scheduled 20hrs/week, we are happy to discuss this rate (Au Pair Rates in the US)

  • Extra pay for additional hours above 20hrs a week is $10/hr

  • Access to our family truck, 2013 Tacoma (manual transmission) you just need to pay for gas when you use it, happy to provide this since getting cars to AK is hard

  • Pay for any additional hours worked beyond 40 per week is $20/hr

  • Time off (in case you want to work a short field course or take a vacation, preferably 3 weeks or less)

  • Vacations with us if you like, our spring trip is to The Mojave in Center in Charleston View, CA and the surrounding area aka Red Rocks, summer-time trip to Southern, Vermont. Maybe some others TBD.

Job Requirments:

  • Lifting and carrying 25 lbs

  • Walking stairs

  • Some experience with kids

  • Fun and engaging, willing to learn new skills

  • Willingness to assist with potty training (Elimination Communication - she only wears diapers for sleep)

  • Basic First Aid skills and Child CPR (willingness to get trained)

  • Laundry

  • Tending woodstove

  • Snack and meal prep for Cecily and clean up

  • Valid Driver's License (if planning to use our car)

  • Excellent EB

  • Maintain cleanliness of common spaces and bathrooms

  • Vaccination for Covid (please contact us to discuss)

  • Willingness to reduce your risk of contracting any illness by keeping a relatively small circle and wearing a mask in public places when not eating and drinking

  • 2-month commitment with options to extend the arrangement for an extended period of time if it is mutually beneficial

  • At least 21 years of age (would also consider a very responsible 17+ with great references and experience with small children)

  • Couples would be welcome

  • Submit to a background check (on our dime)

 

Bonus Qualities

  • Second language or first language other than English (Any)

  • American Sign Language or willingness to learn, we have resources

Start Date: Mid to late January 2022

Please apply by Jan 5th, 2022 by emailing Summers Williams. Include a brief bio, resume, and 2-3 references.

We are excited to bring all types of diversity into Cecily's life and would never discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, relationship status or type, age, national origin, ancestry, physical or mental disability, medical​​​ condition, pregnancy, genetic information, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity or ​expression, veteran status, or any other status protected under federal, state, or local law.

Join us in Alaska!

9693 E Valley crest Drive

Palmer, AK 99645

Tel: 717-919-4455

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
Contact us with questions

To play, press and hold the enter key. To stop, release the enter key.

press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
bottom of page